What I’ve Been Eating

I’ve been trying to cook more to avoid the “ohmygosh I’m too hungry to make something at home but not so hungry that I can’t spend ten minutes prowling the Whole Foods hot bar and another ten in line at the cash register where I spent 1/5 of what I make in a day of substitute teaching” frenzy. At least I don’t have to wash any dishes. Lately, my go-to meal is soup. It’s nice to eat something warm when you keep your apartment at 55 degrees in the middle of winter…and it’s simple! I just throw a bunch of stuff into a pot and let it cook for a while. Last week I made a giant pot of chili with black beans, pinto beans, and lentils and I had lunch and dinner planned for every day of the week. (I don’t want to think about chili for a while).

Today, I was inspired by a recipe from Angela at Oh She Glows. When I read about this vegan tortilla soup, I knew it’d be something I would enjoy so I used it as a guide to make my own. The ingredients in mine:

  • Diced carrots/celery/onion
  • Minced garlic
  • Diced zucchini, red pepper, and green pepper
  • A small can of green chilies
  • Fire-roasted tomatoes with chilies (I really like green chilies)
  • A can of black beans, rinsed and drained.
  • Vegetable broth
  • Cumin, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper
  • Cilantro (I buy frozen cubes of cilantro at Trader Joes…best idea ever)

And then I topped it with avocado, cheese (not vegan) and crispy tortilla strips that I made from a corn tortilla. They were tossed with a little olive oil, sprinkled with chili powder and salt, and broiled until they were crispy I got impatient and took them out. The tortilla strips and avocado were incredibly addicting on top of the soup. Next time, I’d leave the cheese off. The soup doesn’t even need it.

And then I did what anyone without a job would do. I ate lunch in bed.

I’m just trying to stay warm.

4 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Eating

Leave a Reply

