The Best Thing I Ever Ate

Okay…this lunch I made might not be the best thing I EVER ate (props to The Grill Room and other Portland restaurants for earning that distinction) but it’s definitely the most delicious creation I’ve made for lunch at school.

I started by chopping and sauteing a summer squash, zucchini, red pepper, and a yellow onion with some garlic and olive oil. Once they were soft and starting to brown a little bit, I added a generous amount of chopped fresh spinach and some dried basil and let the spinach wilt. Then I mixed in some brown basmati rice that I made in my rice cooker (it was a little overcooked because for some reason I’m awful at making rice, even with a rice cooker. #fail) Then, the best part: I crumbled some herb goat cheese into the mixture once it had cooled.

I put it in the fridge overnight and ate it cold this morning (at the high school we eat lunch at 10:30 every day…and I’m always starving by then) and it was amazing. I thought I wasn’t a fan of goat cheese but I was definitely wrong.

20110915-050257.jpg

4 thoughts on “The Best Thing I Ever Ate

  1. Hi Rachel,

    Just stumbled onto your blog via a facebook post “the best thing I ever ate”, what food lover can resist a tag line like that! So, I ended up reading all your entries and got a good chuckle, particularly about running hills….where I live it’s impossible to avoid them. I’ve been doing alot of walking /jogging and really practicing being “mindful” while doing it; i.e. shoulders back, abdomen pulled in and a still torso, alot to think about while breathing like a mad woman and quads screaming.

    Thanks for sharing, and glad that your doing so well, you provided me some motivation for the day!! Keep up the good work ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

