Come On Irene

Every time I hear a reference to the hurricane the song Come on Eileen pops into my head, hence the title.

Getting sick really made it hard to run this week. Running any distance with body aches and a fever just wasn’t that appealing. And now Hurricane Irene isn’t making outdoor activities any easier.

Calm before the storm? Maybe.

Just in case we’re stranded here for a while my roommates and I made a necessary trip to Hannaford for a few things.

Just a few.

This week I also made my favorite cookies: chocolate chip zucchini. The recipe is from the book Animal Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver which I credit with igniting my interest in health and in eating local. Don’t let the fact that these cookies are made with vegetables and 50% whole wheat flour stop you from making them as they are so soft and delicious. When I made them I didn’t have honey so I substituted pancake syrup (not the healthiest swap) but they tasted great. I forced them on my coworkers on Saturday night but I don’t think anyone minded. I might have eaten some of them this week too.

Just a few.

One thought on “Come On Irene

Leave a Reply

