Panic Attack

I had a moment of panic this week when I remembered that I signed up to run the Trail to Ale 10K on September 10th. Not only have I only run 6 miles one other time in my life…in high school…but I haven’t been running at all since I moved to Portland last week. Yesterday marked the two week anniversary of my last run and 17 days until the big 10K and it also was the day I decided to get my behind in gear. I wanted to ease back into running nice and slowly so I had a goal of 2 miles. The time went by quickly now that I’m running in a new neighborhood with lots of side streets. I like running in places like these because I can distract myself by choosing my favorite houses or planning how I’d landscape or remodel the exterior…that’s my HGTV-loving side coming out for sure.

Today I took my little Monster out for his first run. I was very unsure of how he’d do but he was great! He didn’t pull too hard and only tried tripping me a couple times. We only did 1.6 miles because Cash was getting tired, but he was a great running partner and I can’t wait to run with him again.

Now this is what he’s up to:

And I’m one run closer to 6.2

3 thoughts on “Panic Attack

    • I’ve checked this out before and think it’s a great plan! Unfortunately moving etc. has kept me from running at all…and the race is coming right up!! What I really need is a 1-week 10K plan!

  1. not much time for a plan, but if you go for a nice 5 mile run this weekend and a couple of easy runs midweek next week, with some rest on friday…you will be close. 🙂

Leave a Reply

