Will Run for Smoothies

So I broke up with the training schedule I was using…maybe I’ll try it again but actually start at the beginning this time…duh.

I’ve run three times this week so far, but the heat hasn’t made it easy. When will I learn to run earlier?? My legs also felt like lead the past two days. I blame myself for not stretching after I ran on Monday

Monday: I ran 4.5 miles in 40 minutes. My iMapMyRun app tells me I ran an average of an 8:49 minute mile…I don’t believe it but I won’t argue with technology! I also took sweaty self portraits of myself.

I’m weird…I know

Wednesday the heat definitely got the best of me and I ran 3 slow miles. I ran on a trail for a mile and it definitely tires my legs out faster than when I run on the road

Today my legs still felt like lead and I had to take a couple walking/stretching breaks but I ran 4.4 miles around a neighborhood near my house.

I was feeling pretty tired by the last half mile but the thought of making a giant fruit smoothie when I got home motivated me to finish strong. So after stretching and hydrating, I pulled out the blender and threw in:

A giant handful of spinach (don’t worry, you don’t taste it)

About half a cup of plain greek yogurt

A frozen banana

A generous portion of frozen strawberries and blueberries

Milk to help it blend

The spinach makes it look a little disgusting strange, but trust me, it’s great

I poured the finished product into a tall glass

And enjoyed it outside while hanging out with my favorite guy

Who likes green stuff as much as I do

And smoothies

3 thoughts on “Will Run for Smoothies

  1. Going vegetarian or have you been doing that for a while? My son has been living a vegetarian lifestyle for almost a year. I passed you running last weekend but figured you might be freaked by someone beeping and waving at you. lol Keep up the good work, even though it makes the rest of us look like crap. lololol

    • Hey Wendy! Great to hear from you. I’m not a vegetarian but I eat a mostly vegetarian diet. I just like my vegetables πŸ™‚ And I probably would have been a little freaked out if you had honked but I’m sure I would have figured out it was you and not some creepy old guy πŸ™‚ Running has been hard lately because it’s been hot and I haven’t been waking up early enough to be able to survive the heat. And I just run so I don’t feel guilty about eating french fries and drinking beer πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

