Goals

I love making lists. I make lists for the grocery store…I make lists of things I want when I go shopping……I make Christmas lists…I make to-do lists…but I’ve never made a list of my goals. Writing things down and then crossing them off helps me stay organized and motivated, so I’m not sure why I haven’t done this yet. One goal I’d like to realize this Summer is to become a “runner.” Currently I run…but I don’t consider myself a runner. Every run is an easy run. I don’t challenge myself to run faster or longer and I avoid hills at all costs. So, after a sweaty and exhausting four mile run the other day (I wasn’t running that hard, it was just humid and I was a little dehydrated), I decided that I need to work harder at achieving this goal.

So I found this race:

Old Port 5k (not the half marathon…I’m not that ambitious yet)

And a training schedule:

Hal Hidgon Intermediate 5K Training Schedule

And a cool website that uses these Hal Hidgon training plans to create a schedule in iCalendar based on how long I have to train before the race:

YourTrainingCalendar.com

This is my iCalendar:

I don’t plan on sticking to this 100% because that would mean a pretty significant jump in mileage compared to what I usually do.

I did a speed workout today like the schedule suggests but I only did 4x400s. I ran to the track for a warm-up, which was around 1.7 miles. In between each 400 (1 lap around the track or 1/4 mile) I walked an additional lap.

By the time I got home I had run about 4.4 miles.  Thank you motivation.

Leave a Reply

